Thoughts from a Canadian to an American on the Election

I read your blog about Obama’s win and thought I would share some thoughts on how it looked from my corner of the world in Ontario Canada. Many of my friends, family and neighbours were actively engaged in this election. For a long time we have admittedly looked to our Southern friends and family and shaken our heads in disbelief at the administration of your Country. When George Bush was elected 4 years ago we were very saddened that the American people voted once again  for a man who spoke so often of hate, terror and fear. That individualism and power seemed more important than community and peace.

But all that changed with this election. I loved watching the excitement and energy of the American People in the lead up to the election. There was so much passion, energy and hope. Last night we spoke to our children at the dinner table about the election and explained how millions were going to vote that day just as we had over a month ago in our own Country. We told them that we hoped that the people would vote for a man named Obama because he believes in people and cares about the world (my children are 5 and 3 so we were keeping it simple). My daughter Ainsley beamed at me and said that she too hoped they voted for Obama because he seemed like a good man. Later my partner and I  sat down and watched the coverage and were ecstatic when Obama was awarded  victory. It was a proud day for Americans and we were and are so happy that the US voted for change. This seemed to be an election for the people and I think it demonstrated how good democracy can work when citizens are inspired to be engaged. It serves as an example for all of our Countries to expect more from our leaders and contenders for office. That we shouldn’t have to vote for the lesser evil or against someone but instead for someone and for values we believe in.

Everywhere I go today people in my city are talking about the election and the hope that has come with it. What it means for our own Country policy wise is less important to me right now than what it means for us as people who can believe in change. We elected a minority Conservative government here about a month ago who is reminiscent of George Bush and the Republicans. Many of us fear that our Country is headed in the wrong direction and that so many of the values we as Canadians hold dear will be undermined by our leaders. The election in the US reminds me that it is the people of a country who truly make a difference and that when we come together and put our energy into something we can accomplish great things. I carry this with me as I look forward to what our country needs and how I as a citizen can influence that change.

1 Comment

  1. Sheila said,

    January 23, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    My biggest concern about Obama though is that if he focuses on universal healthcare, how will that affect those of us who self-treat, or are treated by unlicensed homeopaths? Will there be more regulations? If I use an unlicensed Amish midwife, will I be in more danger of persecution by the state? Will I be taxed more to pay for allopathic medicine and then not have the money to buy homeopathic remedies?

    Ditto about education. If there is more focus on schools (which I don’t believe in), will that mean that unschoolers will face more regulations? I know teachers unions don’t support homeschooling at all. When we’ve tried to get less regulated homeschooling laws, it’s been the democrats who have fought against us.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

