A child’s wish list for who will lead the Government

Today is election day in Canada. I asked my 5 and 3 year old girls today what qualities they would look for in people who would lead their country. Here are their answers:

* someone who picks up garbage and takes care of the earth

* someone who helps other people

* a person who will leave bugs alone when they are hiding under a leaf

* somebody silly

* a person who respects other people’s wishes

* someone who listens

I found that the qualities that they listed get to the essence of the same things I am looking for in a leader and my local candidate. I want someone who sees taking care of people as an important part of their job, someone who has a plan for our environment and respects the earth, a person who I can relate to and trust and someone who listens to the citizens of this country.

My girls are wise. When I take them with me to vote today,  I will be letting them know that I am voting for the things that are important to them because it is children who are our future. We need to be thinking generations ahead to what kind of country and world we want our children living in. My kids obviously want a caring, cohesive and healthy world – same as I do.

2 Comments

  1. Marc said,

    October 14, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    Thanks for sharing that and highlighting the simple values that are so often overlooked and misplaced during an election process. I also love how you are sharing this experience with the girls.

  2. Ahavah said,

    November 10, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    That’s too cool! Your daughters have the right idea. They’re the same age as my girls.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

